Review of A Forbidden Rumspringa by Keira Andrews

A Forbidden Rumspringa (Gay Amish Romance #1)A Forbidden Rumspringa by Keira Andrews

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I received a free copy of this book from the author, in exchange for an honest review.

Well, I am going to have to give this book 5 stars, as it made me lie, cheat and steal… well, ok, no, it didn’t make me steal, but it did make me cheat and lie. You see, I was supposed to be doing some peer reviews of some project charters for work, but I accidentally started to read this instead *oops* and then, at around the halfway mark, I had to go out with friends. And there I lied, told them, I had to get home early to finish my work – and instead I finished the book! And now it’s midnight, and I still haven’t done the reviews. Well, I blame Keira Andrews!

But back to the book. This is the story of Isaac and David, two young men living in a very strict Amish settlement in Minnesota. Isaac is eighteen and very confused. He cannot understand why he is not interested in driving home the girls from church and why the thought of doing an carpentry apprenticeship with David Lantz as his mentor makes him so very nervous and almost makes him feel kind of sick.

David is twentytwo and has ended up the head of his family through tragedy, scandal and death. He is aware of what is “wrong” with him, as he – unlike Isaac – has sinned before and ventured out into the world of “the English”. In some ways he is much bolder than Isaac, questioning the rules, the bible, the very foundation of his life, but in other ways he is much more of a coward, hiding himself away in a life of penance for his own sins and for those of his late brother.

This story pulled me in from the first page and it had me gripped. I couldn’t see my way out, and that is a very scary feeling for someone like me: I crave happy endings , like a junkie craves his next fix! And seriously, even at around 90% through I wasn’t sure it would come! I was scared witless! So, if you are like me, let me re-assure you: it is there! And my wail of dismay at the ending, was not because of it missing – it was because of the NEED to have the sequel NOW!

At it’s heart, this is a sweet coming of age story and a beautiful love story, set in a very different setting than what we are accustomed to in contemporary romance. It’s is wonderfully written and the story flows nicely. The Amish community is described in great and fascinating detail, and even if the young people question the way of life, I never felt that the book condemned it as wrong – just different, and not for everyone.

I cannot wait for the sequel and will be looking for other books by this author. Thank you, Keira Andrews, for allowing me read this – even if I now have to spend half the night reviewing those stupid project charters!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

