Review of Dirty Dining by E.M. Lynley

Dirty DiningDirty Dining by E.M. Lynley

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

3-3.5 stars

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Let me just start out by admitting that books about sex workers are my guilty pleasure. Rent boys, strippers, go-go dancers, bring it! So when I read the blurp for this one: pretty boys taking off their skimpy costumes as part of the dinner entertainment! I was soooo there!

Jeremy is a PHD student working on his dissertation. His funding mainly covers his research, so in order to make money he takes a job as a server at “The Dinner Club”, where wealthy members pay for the pleasure of having a pretty, and more or less naked, boy cater to their every need during dinner.
Brice is a lawyer in a Venture Capital firm, coming to The Dinner Club as a guest of one of his co-workers and later bringing a client there. He is uncomfortable with the set up, but very much fascinated with his beautiful server.
After several dinners the two start dating and their relationship continue to develop until Jeremy’s research funding is pulled, due to a decision made by the company Brice is working for.

I would have loved to have granted this story more stars. It was well written, I liked the two MC’s, the story pulled me in and kept my attention, but… there was just a little something missing to push it from good to great.
I really enjoyed the Dinner Club setting at first, and I loved the other boys. But it seemed that it progressively got more and more orgy-like through each dinner – and that was kind of odd. The first dinner was very sedate compared to later dinners. Surely the rules didn’t change?

Also, Jeremy and Brice’s relationship needed more time to develop. It seemed to be based solely on sex. Yes, they had a few dates, and they clearly liked each other, but I didn’t feel like I saw the emotions develop into love.

And unlike most other reviewers, I actually didn’t like the ending! (view spoiler)

All in all though, it was a well written, very enjoyable and hot read. A beautiful cover, that just makes you want to pet the book, so pretty! And a story that lives up to it’s title! Would definitely try something else from this author.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

