Review of The Hollywood Version by Harry K. Malone

The Hollywood VersionThe Hollywood Version by Harry K. Malone

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

3-3.5 stars

I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

This was an entertaining read centered around Mark Lawler, who is a TV-celebrity in Hollywood. Mark is married to Alex, another minor TV actor and in love with his best friend and Co-star Zach – although he is not aware of this himself. When compromising pictures of the two TV stars appear online Marks world start to unravel.
Mark suddenly finds himself homeless, jobless and in the middle of a divorce. An old friend from High school, Ross, puts him up and from there a friendship and later more develops.

My main issue with this novel was, that I didn’t really like any of the characters. I am pretty sure that the author meant for me to dislike shallow Mark at the beginning, but grow to like him as he grew as a person. Unfortunately that really didn’t happen for me. Sure, he seemed nicer at the end, but I was still not sure he was “hero material” for this Hollywood version.

Zach was an absolute asshat, but I was still kind of invested in the relationship between him and Mark, and it made it hard for me, to start rooting for Ross.

The relationship between Ross and Mark was strange to me for other reasons too. I had trouble accepting that Mark could have been so absolutely blind to what he and Zach had, and yet happily – and with no effort or internal struggle what so ever – accept a relationship with Ross. The only struggles he seemed to have revolved around appearences and what it would mean for his career. There really wasn’t any issues with suddenly identifying as gay…

All in all though, I did enjoy the story. The writing was well paced and the story flowed nicely. I particularly enjoyed when the author took us on the little detours of how each scene would have played out, had it been different kind of films or shows, and I wish that had been done more.

I would definitely try out another book from this author.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

