Review of Think of England by K.J.Charles

Think of EnglandThink of England by K.J. Charles

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

4.5 stars

I received a free copy of this book, in exchange for an honest review.

This was delicious, and really, why are you wasting time sitting here reading this review? Go buy the book already! You will not be sorry!

Archie Curtis has returned from war wounded by what he believes to have been sabotage of weapon supplies. An invitation to a house party held by a competing arms manufacturer comes in handy for him to snoop around and try to find out if his suspicions hold true.
Curtis is a soldier, not a spy. He is not practised in subterfuge, but he is determined to find out what happened to him and his men.

At the party he encounters Daniel DaSilva, a man he dislikes upon sight. Daniel is a poet, he is effete, rude, crude, waspish and all together an embarrasment with his jewish faith, his too tight clothes and his effete mannerisms.
Daniel IS practised in subterfuge, in all aspects of his life, and has his own agenda for being at the house party. He becomes Curtis unlikely ally when they discover that their two causes seem to have the same root.

This was wonderfully written, the tension unfolds neatly and even though the story starts slow it pulls you in quickly and a few chapters in you are hooked. I was as tense as Curtis for the remainder of the book.

The only reason it looses half a star is due to the fact that I felt it was too short. I would have loved a little more in the middle and end… I was so tense, wondering if anyone would figure out how much they knew, and then suddenly it climaxed and wrapped up…

There is a love story here, and a coming out story as well, I guess. But mainly it’s a mystery story, and a very entertaining one at that. The story takes place in 1904, and stays true to its time period, so there can obviously not be a true hea in a society that classifies sodomy as a crime. But do not let that scare you off. I am a HEA junkie myself, but was very happy with the HFN I was given and the open ending that could lead to sequels, which I would definitely read!

This was my first book by Ms Charles, but it will not be my last!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

