Review of Turning 16 by Perie Wolford

Turning 16 (Turning 16, #1)Turning 16 by Perie Wolford

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

3.5-4 stars

I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Let me start out by saying, that I do not normally read YA. But this one I had to read. The moment I read the words: tribute to John Hughes, I knew I had to have it. I mean, the mans movies defined my teenage years, and those of my entire generation.

Going in I was slightly worried, could the author pull it off, without it being a rip off? But he did, wonderfully! This was truly a John Hughes movie in book form – except that Molly Ringwald was relegated to sidekick and confidante, and her slightly dorky but sweet best friend took center stage – as well as a wonderfully sweet coming of age story in its own right.

Sam is suffering from a lot of thing, a birthday curse being at the forefront of this story. Due to an unfortunate series of events Sam’s birthday turns into a birthday week, which is not really what you want when the day is cursed and everything is bound to go wrong.

As all 16 year olds Sam is in love with the most handsome and popular guy in school, Jake. A guy who doesn’t know Sam even exist. So, like any other 16 year old would, Sam turns to stalking just to be near him.

His stalking is made difficult however by his best friend Melanie and Mitch, the guy Sam believes is after her, and also by the ever omnipresent birthday curse, which means that unfortunate incidents will be happening constantly to poor Sam.

This is a very sweet, albeit predictable story of not seeing what is right in front of you. The story itself didn’t do that much for me, but the mood and setting, the “John Hughes – feel” made me love it all the same…

A recommendable story – especially to those who grew up with John Hughes classic movies.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

