Review of Power Exchange by A.J. Rose

Power Exchange (Power Exchange, #1)Power Exchange by A.J. Rose

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

3.5-4 stars

This was really enjoyable and a very entertaining read. I was engrossed in the story all the way through and my interest didn’t falter. The writing flowed nicely and if there were any editing errors, they weren’t big enough to pull me from the story…

I loved Gavin and Ben was a great partner for him. They were sweet and hot together. I also really enjoyed the secondary characters. They were well fleshed out and there was a lot of interaction, which kept the story moving forward.

So why only 3.5-4 stars? Well, there were a few things that annoyed me. ***Some of these may be spoilerish, you have been warned!***

1. The ‘whodunnit’ plot was way too easily seen through. I knew who the killer was the first time we met him. And no matter how many weird directions their case was going in, the police should have had him as their main suspect at least at the second murder… That made me doubt Gavin’s ability as a detective, which was a shame, because I really liked Gavin!

2. The insistency on public dispaly from Ben. Fine, if that was a hard limit for him, but why at THAT club during the investigation? That felt a bit odd to me. Couldn’t they have gone to another club? But maybe that’s just me.

3. The ending! Why, oh why, were we not a part of those scenes we are being told about? I wanted to experience that, not just be told that it had happened!

I will still read the next two books in the series, but probably not right this instant. For now I can live with Ben and gavin’s hopeful HFN.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

