Review of One Way or Another by Jade Cain

One Way or Another (One Way or Another, #1-5)One Way or Another by Jade Cain

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

3 stars

I received a free copy of this book, in exchange for an honest review.

Ethan Kovac is a gay closeted tv-star, who have just been cast in a new sitcom. He is in lust with his straight co-star Isaac Duncan. One thing leads to another and the two end up having an affair, whilst trying to deal with the press, unhappy co-stars and sleezy directors.

This was a cute and quick read, although it felt a bit choppy. The writing was flowing nicely and was easy to follow. But the present tense never endeared itself to me, unfortunately. It somehow felt distancing, like I was watching a TV show, but that might have been the authors intention.

The story flows easily, although there are a few midly clumsy time gaps in the beginning of the story, but not enough to throw you completely out of the story. The relationship between Ethan and Isaac is hot and heavy, but felt too easy to me.

Isaac is supposed to be straight, and yet, there was no real inner conflict or issue about him having a relationship with a man. And the beginning of the relationship was just a tad too easy for me. I kind of needed some kind of explanation, something about Isaac always having been attracted to guys, or having been in deep denial about his sexuality or anything, really…

I love the GFY trope, but I need a bit of struggle, or angst or at least a true explanation, to be able to go with it… So the start made it kind of hard for me to continue, because that didn’t sit well with me. The story got better though, although the few angsty side plots were too underdeveloped for my liking, as well as Ethan’s actual coming out… which was a non-event in the end, but that wasn’t the way the reader was exposed to it, at the beginning of the book…

All in all though, it was an enjoyable little read. Very much a sit-com, like the setting of the story, you enjoy it while you’re watching, but the moment you turn of the tv, you will probably forget all about it…

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

