Review of Opening Day by Alexis Woods

Opening Day (Southern Jersey Shores #1)Opening Day by Alexis Woods

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

2.5-3 stars

I received a free copy of this book, in exchange for an honest review.

Aron ‘Ace’, has been dumped by his boyfriend, and decides to stay away from the dating scene for a while. This decision does not hold up more than 24 hours however, as he meets Darren, who is covering a shift in the pharmacy where Aron is the store manager, the very next day.

The two bond over late night closing up, dinner, beer and a mutual love of baseball. As it happens, the next night is Opening Day for the Red Sox and they decide on watching the game together.

The first half of the book is the meet up, and filled with more details about working in a pharmacy, than I have ever wished to know.
The second is the game date in front of the television, which is basically one long sex scene, interspersed with baseball references – I am not a fan of the sport in any way shape or form (being european), but I still did enjoy the game / sex banter.

I enjoyed the writing, I did, however, wonder about certain things, that were brought up but seemed oddly irrelevant. The unhappy customer for example, or Darren being late for the date, due to reading a book. Why? It was never followed up upon, and it didn’t seem to affect the mood of the date, other than the first 30 seconds…

The story was well written, flowed nicely and held no editing errors, at least none that I noticed. But it started out incredibly slow, so slow, that I had trouble keeping interest. And then the relationship moved forward incredibly quick, way to quick for me, in this context.

I would read another story by this author, as I did enjoy the writing style, however, I would probably prefer a full length novel, as this short felt too rushed.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

