Review of Pretty Poison by Kari Gregg

Pretty PoisonPretty Poison by Kari Gregg

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

3.5-4 stars

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Let me start out by saying, that I am really not much of a shifter girl. That being said, I really liked this story. The shifter universe pulled me in right away and I just went with it and what a fun and enjoyable ride it was. The author is clearly talented and the writing flowed nicely, never once lacking or pulling me out of the story.

Noah fell from an eighth story window as a young boy and even though he survived, he was crippled for life. Maimed beyond even his shifter bloods capability to heal. The pack wanted a mercy kill, after all, what good is a wolf, who cannot walk, run, hunt? So Noahs family, a highly respected family in the shifter community, fled the pack and turned to human medicine to help their young son.

16 years later, the pack has a new alpha, who comes to the family’s remote farm to invoke a mating pact set up long before Noah was even born. The pact was originally for the eldest of the children, the daughter, but as she has already married, the new alpha, Wade, has the pick of the remaining brood. He chooses Noah.

Noah accepts his fate, but is pretty sure that Wade is out for revenge, and nothing else, expecting Wade to either rape or kill him. When neither happens, he is confused, but still cannot trust his new reality as the Alpha mate of the pack.

Noah and Wade were cute together, each with their own insecurities and hidden agendas, which changes over time. I thoroughly enjoyed their journey towards becoming a couple. And I really liked the fact that they had to choose eachother – instead of there being a pre-destined “mating call”, which “forced” them together, as it is other done in the shifter universe.
I enjoyed the fact, that none of the tension in the pack had to do with the Alpha choosing a male mate, but rather with the fact that he had chosen an ‘imperfect’ one. I did not enjoy Noahs “solution” to this however, but that’s me. I am really not a fan on that particular trope.(view spoiler)

The story lost a tiny bit of momentum in the end, and I wasn’t too keen on the conflict – would have preferred that tension to have come to head in a different way – and the epilogue was just a little too smooth and lovely to fit the rest of the story in my mind.

But all in all, a very enjoyable story, which I would recommend to anyone who enjoys shifters.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

