Review of Yogi and the Bear by Nix Knox

Yogi and the BearYogi and the Bear by Nix Knox

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

2,5 stars

I received a free copy of this book, in exchange for an honest review.

Ryan is a construction worker, who suffers chronic back pain after an accident at work. In desperation he tries out yoga to soothe the pain and meets yoga-instructor Nic.

I am not sure where to start with this review. I had great expectations for this book, it sounded delicious, and who doesn’t love a big burly submissive guy? Unfortunately I ended up disappointed. The story started out strong, but went pear shaped along the way.

Ryan was lovely. I didn’t understand why he had to be from a religious nut job family and I really did not – in any way, shape or form, see the relevance of the Rachael side-plot – that should have been edited out, if you asked me. But I liked him as a character and rooted for him, even if I had a few minor quips about his character, that didn’t quite match up.
(view spoiler)

Unfortunately, that issue became even more pronounced when we meet Nic. Nic is all over the place, character wise, and I am sorry, but I never really bought in to the whole Nic / Julian debacle. And since that is one of the major plot points, it made it difficult for me to enjoy the story.
I never felt, that Nic’s story added up or that he did, for that matter. None of it made sense!

I really disliked the meet, as – again – it made no sense. Imagine you had taken a vow of chastity, because you were assaulted and a bit afraid of your own urges as well. You are in a public bathroom, the power goes out and a guy you have never met – or even seen – asks you for ‘a hand’… Wouldn’t you go: “eeeew, pervy old git!” rather than go for it? So, yeah, the reasoning behind the bath room hook up didn’t mesh in my head.

The writing over all was fine – if a bit too much telling and not enough showing, there were no major editing errors, and I would probably try this author again, to give him another chance, because there was a very interesting story in there, somewhere, even if it lacked a bit in execution.

The story was 2,5 stars, but I adored the title, so I gave it a 3 star rating 😉

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

