Review of Kiss Interrupted by Barbara Elsborg

Kiss InterruptedKiss Interrupted by Barbara Elsborg

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

4-4.5 stars

I received a free ARC of this book from the author, in exchange for an honest review.

This is a hard review to write. I can’t really tell much about the story, without giving important plot points away, I will say that the cover and blurb doesn’t really fit the story, not that it’s wrong as such, but it would lead you to believe that this is a contemporary adversaries to lovers kind of tale. And while it is that, it is also something more, and it has an element of the paranormal, which might be a nasty surprise for some and a happy one for others, if not warned beforehand.

To me, the paranormal aspects worked well. I enjoyed the MC’s immensely and even if the story is a bit insta-lovey (which I am normally NOT a fan of) it worked well within the circumstances the characters were forced to navigate.

Fyn, a strait laced commitment-phobe, is sent from London to the Leeds branch of the insurance company he works for, to take the place of a manager off sick and to trim down the organisation at the same time. Libby is working as a trainee and on his list of people to let go.
She is everything he is not. Full of spark, imagination, colour and life. And she intrigues him and turns him on as well as pushes all his buttons in the wrong way. They are a very unlikely pairing, even if the depictions we get before they are thrown together are limited – I would have enjoyed a little more about them in the workplace beforehand.

I love the way Barbara Elsborg writes. It’s fast paced, fun and engaging. You are grabbed right from the word go and it doesn’t let up. So many emotions get tangled up in it, I laughed, I was freaked out, I was turned on, I even got a bit misty eyed and I worried. A lot!

Now, however much I love her writing, there can be no doubt that Ms. Elsborg is an evil woman. I don’t think I have ever worried so much about a couple reaching their happy ending as I do every time I read a book by her. You would think I would have gotten used to it, but apparently not! I am happy to say though, that Libby and Fyn DO reach their Happy ever after – so do not fret (even though you will!)…

I enjoyed this story immensely and will absolute recommend it. I have read quite a few of Barbara Elsborg’s books by now, both her MF and MM pairings, all of them very enjoyable, well written, fast paced, enagaging and heart wrenching, all at the same time. This one is no exception.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

