Review of Club Shadowlands by Cherise Sinclair

Club Shadowlands (Masters of the Shadowlands, #1)Club Shadowlands by Cherise Sinclair

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

2-2.5 stars

This was… Inoffensive? I think that’s the best word for it. And yet, it wasn’t, because it was actually a bit sexist and Master Z was a bit of a condescending meddling jerk. Jessica I sincerely disliked. Apparently she was a ‘spitfire’ and had a really strong and commanding personality, which led one of the subs to mistake her for a domme… And I kept thinking, really? Where? I don’t see it. She was an insecure doormat with no sense and no personality or strength to me. This might have been made worse by the portrail by the narrator, who made horrible choices for the female characters… So actually, no, not inoffensive, LOL. But easily read, after all.

What really pisses me off, is that this book is symptomatic of every MF BDSM book I pick up, the female subs are wet rags. Come on people! It takes a hell of a lot of mental strength to surrender everything, including your will, to someone else!

This book is really light on BDSM. I saw someone call it sugarkink, and that fits the bill. It’s mainly some light bondage really, with a few vibrators and slaps thrown in for good measure.

Based on this book alone, I would not have continued the series, but everyone assures me it gets better, so I will cautiously try book 2.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

