Review of Crossroads by Riley Hart

Crossroads (Crossroads, #1)Crossroads by Riley Hart

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

1.5-2 stars

This was not for me! But since everyone – and I do mean everyone – seem to love this story, please do not let my review stand alone, if you are considering it.

Nick, a restaurant owner, is divorced and moving into his new home. A small double house with a shared yard. In the other unit moves another single man, Bryce. The two form a friendship, which then develops into more.

GFY is hard to do right – double GFY – double hard. And this one just did not work for me, at all! I never saw the chemistry or love between the two, even if I was told repeatedly that it was there. And that was, in actual fact, the main problem for me with the entirety of this story. It was tell, tell, tell and never show…
And why the big empahsis on the shared yard, when it was never used, until the very last scene of the book? Why wasn’t it used to build tension? Sunbathing, yard work in skimpy outfits, whatever… such a missed opportunity…

I just could not get invested. Other than that I found Bryce incredibly unappealing, and a bit of an asshole to be frank, Nick was completely bland and the whole of both of their families annoying and 2-dimensional. Their mothers’ especially, were horrid, Nick’s mother running off with Bitch of the Year award…
It took me almost 2 weeks to get through this book, and I read a book a day on average, so it’s not because I am a slow reader. I just had no interest in this story or this couple.

The writing in it self was fine, there were some tense issues now and then that pulled me slightly out of the story, but nothing major. But, as stated in the beginning, everyone loves this story, so I am probably the odd one out here. I have read and enjoyed other books by this author, so i’ll just mark this down as a glitch.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

