Review of Dark Citadel by Cherise Sinclair

Dark Citadel (Masters of the Shadowlands, #2)Dark Citadel by Cherise Sinclair

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This will be my farewell to Shadowlands. This book was just as bad, if not worse, than the first. At least the first wasn’t too offensive… This one? The sexist comments from book 1 continue in this one and I actually lost count of the number of idle rape threats just thrown in there by strangers, as if that was ok…

This time we meet the newbie sub Kari, who arrives at the club for an introductory course with a date, Buck, whom we are to see as the bad guy, but in the end I kind of preferred him to our ‘Hero’.

The male MC in this book is Master Dan. A Dom/man (in this book the two seem almost interchangeable) with a frightening lack of self control, no self insights what so ever and such bad communicative skills, that I wouldn’t trust him to paint my bedroom walls, let alone do anything at all to me whilst I was restrained.

Kari is another doormat with no personality except her suppressed sexuality and her incredible goodness! Trust me. This woman is the epitome of female caring; woodland creatures should be following her around, that is how wholesome, lovely and good she is.

It got old, really fast! So did Master Dan’s frigid ‘he stiffened and pulled away from her’-routine every time someone talked about the two of them seeing each other again.

Based on these two books, I have to say, that Club Shadowlands needs to vet their members better, they have at least one or two people thrown out every freaking night, because they do something ontowards…

The kink in this installment is still kept to the fairly tame. There is some public displaying, some rough sex and a spanking. But it is mainly just restraints. I really don’t care about the level of kink, even if I normally enjoy a bit more than this, what I do care about is the dynamic between the couple. And in these books there are none. There is a man telling a woman what to do, whilst calling her “little sub” and a woman saying:”oh, no I couldn’t, surely not” and then he ties her up and does it anyway…. Oh, and she loves it, whilst orgasming and screaming, because magic dick, you know.

A lot of people seem to love this series though, but it’s obviously not for me. So I’ll bow out here.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

