Review of When One Door Opens by J.D. Ruskin

When One Door OpensWhen One Door Opens by J.D. Ruskin

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I listened to the audiobook of this story, narrated by K.C. Kelly and I am not sure, but I think maybe I should have read it instead. I never got round to his narration fitting the tone of the story, so that may colour my view of the story overall.

Logan is an alcoholic on parole after a year in prison after severely injuring others in a barfight. While on parole he is under strict supervision. He has to attend anger management classes, AA meetings, keep a steady job and has a curfew of 8pm where he has to be at his apartment. He has a part time job at a packaging warehouse and a crappy apartment in a halfway house in a bad part of town.

Caleb is the nephew of the manager of the warehouse Logan works for. He is an agoraphobic and hasn’t left his apartment in 3 years. Logan gets a second job, delivering Caleb’s mail and groceries and checking that he is ok, in general.

There were a lot of things about this book I loved. I loved the hurt comfort theme, the two MCs each struggling with their own afflictions and pasts. The banter between them was sweet and fun and I really liked both of them and their slow moving friendship.
I did wish though that we had seen more of Logan’s friendship with Michael and seen him really engaging in his court appointed therapy.
Unfortunately there was also quite a few things that didn’t work for me. I didn’t like the side plot with the supervisor, Karen, at the warehouse. It was unnecessary in my opinion, as the story could have easily revolved around Logan and Caleb overcoming each of their troubled pasts and presents. And I never forgave Caleb’s uncle for his behaviour towards Caleb.

Even if there were things that didn’t work for me and that I wish had been left out, I would still recommend this story to others and I would try this author again.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

