Review of Hotline by Quinn Anderson

HotlineHotline by Quinn Anderson

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

***I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley.com, in exchange for an honest review***

3 stars

The second I read the blurb for this book, I knew I was going to read it. Phone sex operator and client fall for each other? Yes, please! And the book started out strong: I was engaged, I was entertained and I was intrigued by the phone sex business.

Zack is a college drop out, working as a phone sex operator to pay his rent and bills. He is content in his life, but not really happy. He has a dog he loves, a nice set of neighbour, who have all but adopted him and great friends, but he is not really passionate about anything and he has no idea what to do with his life.
One night a client calls him, whom he actually connects with, our other MC John. We know very little of John, except for his sexual fantasies and that he is well off and comes from money.

The two MC’s are obviously hot and heavy right from the start, although it takes a while before they meet in person. The sex is steamy and since it takes place over the phone, it is graphically described. Unfortunately the strong start kind of fizzled out around the middle part of the book and it began to drag a bit. The conflict that arose felt kind of contrived and forced and neither MC really showed any character growth. On top of that I never really got any feel for who John was. We never meet his family or friends and the entire story is told from Zack’s point of view.

The story ends on what I what call a HFN, which is ok, but leaves you a bit wanting. An epilogue might have been a nice touch at this point, as I wasn’t really convinced that they had what it took to make it. So many things still felt unresolved and as most of Zack’s friends point out: the two seem to have nothing in common except for sexual chemistry.

There was a strong core in the premise of this story, but it felt like the author lost their way somewhere along the line. A few editing errors and continuity issues were present as well, but not so many as to pull you out if the story. I would still try other works from this author, but this one missed the mark a bit for me.

Hotline will be out on October 31st 2016.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

