Review of Out of My Mind by A.J. Truman

Out of My Mind (Browerton University, #3)Out of My Mind by A.J. Truman

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I received a free copy of this book, in exchange for an honest review.

I’ve read the first book of this series and really enjoyed it, so I had pretty high expectations going into this one. All the books in the series works as a stand alone, so you can jump in where ever you want without missing anything.

Mac and Gideon meet in freshman year of college, striking up a conversation, which Mac sees as flirting. One thing lead to another, which leads to a private kiss and Gideon storming off in a huff. The two meet again a couple of years later, when Gideon needs a roommate after his girlfriends bails on moving in with him.

The tension between the two is high, but they are both in a tight spot and decide to give it a chance. Living in close quarters eventually bring the tension to a boil and the two end up having a casual hook up thing going on, except that there are weird rules in place, for Gideon to be able to continue his ‘I am not gay’ denial.

The pair go back and forth on each other a lot in the book and a lot of outside drama takes place to further the waves too. And I think that was where the main problem lay for me. It was all just a bit too abrupt and choppy, with too little of the emotions behind the abruptness showing through.

There was a really good angsty story hidden in there somewhere. I loved Gideon’s inner ‘Jewish guilt’ voice, that told stories about how the gossipy whispers at the temple saw him. I wish that had been a recurring theme through out the story, except only a few bits in the middle. I also loved the start where Mac the sociology student predicts his ‘human experiments. But after that strong start Mac became almost anonymous until at the very end.

It was still an oks tory and I would still try the next one in the series by this author, but this one was a miss for me.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

