Review of A Second Harvest by Eli Easton

A Second Harvest (Men of Lancaster County, #1)A Second Harvest by Eli Easton

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Oh, Eli Easton, what you do to me!

I was going to read a few chapters before bed. At 4.30 in the morning, having read the first two parts of the book, I had to force myself to go to bed. I loved this sweet and slow moving coming out story.

David is 41, a widower with two grown children, who runs a farm in a small Mennonite community. He is lonely and deeply depressed, just going through the motions and basically waiting to die, but at 41, he feels that he still has quite a lot of waiting to do, even if he drops dead early, as his father did.

Christie is a graphic designer and party boy living in Manhattan. At 30 he is starting to wonder, if there is more to life than drinking, clubbing and hooking up, when he gets a nasty wake up call in the shape of his best friend and room mate’s overdosing on drugs.
He recently inherited a small farm house from his late aunt and decides to go live in the house, to get away from his life and get the house ready for sale.

The courtship is slow and lovely. I guess in a way this book proves the old saying that the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach, as Christie woos David through exotic meal after exotic meal. But he is not only feeding David’s body, he is feeding his soul and his travelling spirit.

David’s community and children as well as his own inner turmoil is the main conflict of the story. It is a very quiet little tale. There is not a lot of action per se, but the story still kept me completely engrossed all the way through.

Sometimes a book find you, just a the right time and therefore resonates. I could not have said if I would have granted this book 5 stars at another point in time, but right now, it made me smile and cry and had me up all night, so 5 stars it is for David and Christie, for life should not be over at 40, especially not for someone whose life has never really begun.

Warmly recommended.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

