Review of Freckles by Amy Lane

FrecklesFreckles by Amy Lane

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

I am a big fan of Amy Lane’s christmas stories. In fact, her Christmas Kitsch may be one of my favourite re-reads ever. She has a knack for doing cute and fluffy with an emotional punch. So when I saw this one, I was all over it. Amy Lane, christmas fluff and a puppy? Sign me up!
Carter is a lawyer, working for an absolute douchebag of a man. He hates his job, his boyfriend just dumped him and he is in general just a very lonely and dissatisfied person. One afternoon on his way home from work a puppy is pushed into his unwilling arms and he is left trying to figure out what to do with it. He decides to keep it, goes to the vet and meets Sandy, a vet tech who studies veterinary medicine.

Now, I am a dog person to the nth degree. I own 3 beautiful girls and my life more or less revolve around them and the work we do together. I am also a hard core advocate for pets not being impulse buys! I tried to not let Carter’s impulse decision sway me though, I ignored all the things I would have done differently in living with this pup (not once in my many years as a puppy owner have I ever had pee pads in my home), because really, these things were not important. I knew that freckles needed to be chaotic to shake Carter up, to get him to re-evaluate his life. And she did that.

The story is sweet and fluffy, the main characters are likeable and sympathetic, the writing flowed beautifully but there was not the usual emotional punch, that I expect from Ms. Lane’s writing. Many of the secondary characters seemed superfluous or caricaturish instead of adding to the story and the relationship.

All in all, it was a sweet story, but it missed the mark just a tad based on my expectations. But the pup was cute and it’s still a nice little christmas story.

Freckles will be released on November 14th 2016.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

