Review of The Wizard’s Desire by Anna Wineheart

The Wizard's DesireThe Wizard’s Desire by Anna Wineheart

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I received a free copy of this book from the author, for my reading pleasure.  This has in no way affected my review of this book.

Kei hates anything to do with magic, since a wizard ruined his childhood by erasing his parent’s memory of him as their son, and his upstairs witch neighbour flooding his apartment does nothing to endear him to the magical folk. Neither does accidentally falling into an enchanted snow globe and being trapped there with a recluse of a wizard and a goat who despises him.

This story had a fun and interesting premise, but to me the pacing was too slow for the first half of the book and I had a trouble keeping interested. I never really warmed to either of the MC’s, which for me makes it harder to love a story. I found Kei rather annoying and Orion was just so insecure that he came across as pathetic. I understand that his act’s were kind of noble, but they just seemed cowardly to me.

After the halfway point though, the story and pacing picked up and I found it easier to keep interested. There was some lovely steamy scenes and the MC’s redeemed themselves slightly, even if I never actually got around to liking them and rooting for them. I really liked Billy though. I did not, however, like the epilogue. That was not enough for me, I am not as forgiving a soul as Kei, it would seem.

All in all, an interesting premise and a sweet story, which was just lacking a little for me, others have loved it, so please do not let my review stand alone if you are considering buying it. I enjoyed the writing well enough, that I would still try another book from this author.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

