Review of Shelton in Love by Dianne Hartsock

Shelton in Love (Shelton #1)Shelton in Love by Dianne Hartsock

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

This is a compilation of 5 previously released shorter stories about the same couple, Shelton and Nevil, now collected into one long novel. This might be why the story has a very abrupt feel to it, with large time jumps.

The first part – the original “Shelton in Love” – was actually quite good, as a short. But instead of the expansion of what happened after the ‘I Love You’, I would have much preferred a longer build up of back story. There was so much missing to flesh out these characters and their behaviours. These lacks I could have easily overlooked in a short – but in a full length novel it meant, that I never really believed or cared about the couple and their love story.

There were some really annoying and superfluous side plots that made absolutely no sense and brought nothing to the story and, as weird as I find it to say this: there was waaaaaaay too much sex. I found myself skimming page after page of sex, just to get to some actual story line.

I needed more back story. I wanted to know about Shelton’s past, about how his scars formed him and his sex life. Why Nevil changed from man slut to loving dedicated partner and when. How long the two had lived together, how long they had secretly been in love with each other each thinking the other one didn’t feel the same. The life after the ‘I love you’ isn’t nearly as interesting – at least not to me.

Not for me. Might have worked if it had stayed a series of shorts, but as a full length novel it needed more back story and at least half of the sex scenes edited out.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

